FAROESE STUDENTS

The Faroe Islands lie between Iceland and Norway north of the Atlantic Ocean in the Norwegian Sea. Their population is quite low, a little over 50,000 people reside there, including 30,000 around the capital: Torshavn. This city and its peripheral towns constitute the economic, cultural and educational heart of this autonomous province attached to Denmark.

The Faroese have very strong cultural and identity roots, they have their own language and they almost all know each other by their last name, so they know approximately where each one comes from.

Therefore, their genealogy is very close and many of them are distant cousins. This is also one of the problems specific to relatively sparsely populated island places like this one.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

During the first weeks of the trip, besides the fact that they have a very strong sense of sharing and community, a physical bond between these people appeared to me. They can be characterized as an elegant mix of British, Danish and Icelandic populations, with quite unique traits in addition. In summary, their typical physique consists of light hair and light eyes.

However, this class of students from Torshavn High School is surprisingly physically diverse. This is the first thing I noticed, despite all the same some redundancies. Personalities for the most part creative, very focused on music, drawing, comedy and photography in general. These ephemeral encounters plunged me into the heart of the youth of the Faroe Islands.

I saw a world of difference between this generation and that of their parents. The young generation is very free-spirited, quite wanton and rather involved in the recognition of women and the LGBT community. In addition, she is relatively attached and aware of environmental issues. A vegetarian trend born, however it is limited due to the lack of vegetable culture and the dependence on fruit and vegetable imports. They follow European influences closely, they listen to pop like all young people but also a lot of hard-rock-punk music groups, some of which are Faroese. Also, some follow the traditions instilled by their parents and go to Church regularly to sing and pray.

The generation of their parents is, on the contrary, quite conservative, mainly linked to religion and biblical beliefs. There is only one religion in the Faroe Islands. They practice daily, whether it is prayer before each meal but also family church songs on Sunday. They thus attach a certain importance to the family but also to traditions of all kinds which constitute their identity as Faroese. Even if some of them are controversial like that of whaling / dolphin hunting ...

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

This project is a personal immersion in a class of Faroese students learning French. I worked there as a Francophone then as a photographer. The goal is to achieve a personal and representative portrait of the personality of each of them.

With their teacher, Napoleon, they are currently carrying out the project of writing a magazine in French, intended for French-speaking tourists arriving in the Faroe Islands through the direct airline recently created by Atlantic Airways, between Paris and Vagar. These portraits are intended to show their author faces at the end of the magazine.

Images and texts subject to copyright: © Lucas Frayssinet

FAROESE STUDENTS

Les îles Féroé se situent entre L'Islande et la Norvège au nord de l'océan Atlantique dans la mer de Norvège. Leur population est assez faible, un peu plus de 50 000 personnes y résident dont 30 000 autour de la capitale: Torshavn. Cette ville est ses villes périphériques constituent le coeur économique, culturel et éducatif de cette province autonome rattachée au Danemark.

Les Féroïens possèdent des racines culturelles et identitaires très fortes, ils ont leur propre langue et ils se connaissent presque tous par leur nom de famille, ils savent ainsi approximativement d'où chacun vient. 

Par conséquent, leur généalogie est très proche et nombre d'entre eux sont des cousins éloignés. C'est d'ailleurs l'une des problématiques propres aux endroits insulaires relativement peu peuplés comme celui-ci.

Au cours des premières semaines du voyage, outre le fait qu'ils ont un sens du partage et de la communauté très présent, un lien physique m'est apparu entre ces personnes. Ils peuvent être caractérisés comme un élégant mélange entre population Britannique, Danoise et Islandaise, avec en plus des traits assez uniques. En résumé, leur physique typique se constitue de cheveux clairs et de yeux clairs.

Cependant cette classe d'étudiants du Lycée de Torshavn est surprenante de diversité physique. C'est d'ailleurs la première chose que j'ai remarquée, malgré tout de même certaines redondances. Des personnalités pour la plupart créatives, très centrées sur la musique, le dessin, la comédie et la photographie en général. Ces rencontres éphémères m'ont plongé au coeur de la jeunesse des îles Féroé. 

J'ai constaté un monde d'écart entre cette génération et celle de leurs parents. La jeune génération est très libre d'esprit, assez dévergondée et plutôt impliquée dans la reconnaissance de la femme et de la communauté LGBT. De plus elle est relativement attachée et sensibilisée aux problèmes environnementaux. Une tendance végétarienne née, cependant elle est limitée en raison du manque de culture végétale et de la dépendance d'importation fruitière et légumière. Ils suivent de près les influences européennes, ils écoutent de la pop comme tous les jeunes mais aussi beaucoup de groupes de musique hard-rock-punk dont certains sont Féroïens. Aussi, certains suivent les traditions inculquées par leurs parents et se rendent à l'Eglise régulièrement pour chanter et prier. 

La génération de leurs parents est à contrario assez conservatrice, majoritairement rattachée à la religion et aux croyances bibliques. Il n'existe qu'une seule religion aux îles Féroé. Ils pratiquent quotidiennement, que ce soit la prière avant chaque repas mais aussi les chants à l'Eglise en famille le dimanche. Ils accordent ainsi une certaine importance à la famille mais aussi aux traditions de toutes sortes qui constituent leur identité de Féroïen. Même si certaines d'entres elles sont controversées comme celle de la chasse à la baleine / dauphins... 

Ce projet est une immersion personnelle dans une classe d'étudiants Féroïens apprenant le Français. J'y suis intervenu en tant que Francophone puis en tant que photographe. Le but étant de réaliser un portrait personnel et représentatif de la personnalité de chacun d'eux.

Avec leur professeur, Napoleon, ils sont en train de réaliser le projet d'écrire un magazine en Français, à destination des touristes Francophones arrivant aux îles Féroé par le biais le la ligne aérienne directe crée récemment par Atlantic Airways, entre Paris et Vagar. Ces portraits ont pour but de montrer leurs visages d'auteur à la fin du magazine. 

Images et textes soumis à des droits: ©Lucas Frayssinet