RESIDENTS

Retirement homes. Place for most of us considered sad and boring. However, these establishments are, when you spend time there and share certain moments with their residents, full of life.

It was this vibrant atmosphere full of different people with different personalities that I wanted to capture. I went from room to room to take these portraits in the only personal environment they have left. Some personal effects, photo albums, memories of a lifetime stored in a small wicker box, family photos hanging on the walls and drawings of their grandchildren, great grandchildren remind them of their life before and allow them to feel less alone.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

During these meetings we take the measure of the history of each of them and all the incredible things they have experienced. They tell a whole bunch of anecdotes about their life with a certain enthusiasm to be able to speak, relate and exchange with a new person. Some have a natural good humor, others a pronounced humor ... The film camera that I had with me often served as a starting point for dialogue, surely bringing back memories of good times spent with the family.

Some residents are here with their husbands / wives, I have never seen a couple so loving and caring for each other as here. These couples live in symbiosis, they depend on each other to live. They also realize that their time is running out, they make the most of it.

When we discuss more deeply with each one, everyone is clear about their condition and the fact that they are at the end of their life. It is also important but also disturbing to know that perhaps, for many residents this will be the last true portrait of them alive.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

I carried out this work with particular pleasure in photographing these people with facial features marked by the years, making them all the more beautiful. But also it relates more personally the condition of one of my grandmother and one of my grandfather, suffering from Alzheimer's disease who went through this kind of establishment by obligation. I was able to find residents with the same background as them, and it was touching to see the similarities and handicaps linked to this disease. Like the fact that they become children again in their heads, find a certain form of innocence despite their incoherent remarks and speak without filter. Their memory takes them back decades and does not realize where they are or how old they really are.

Images and texts subject to copyright: © Lucas Frayssinet

RESIDENTS

Les maisons de retraite. Lieu pour la plupart d'entre nous considéré comme triste et ennuyant. Cependant, ces établissements sont, lorsqu'on y passe du temps et qu'on y partage certains moments avec ses résidents, plein de vie.

C'est cette atmosphère pleine de vie, remplie de personnes différentes aux personnalités différentes que je voulais capturer. Je suis allé, de chambre en chambre, réaliser ces portraits dans le seul environnement personnel qui leur reste. Quelques effets personnels, des albums photo, des souvenirs de toute une vie rangés dans une petite boite en osier, des photos de famille accrochées aux murs et des dessins de leurs petits-enfants, arrières petits-enfants leur rappellent leur vie d'avant et leur permettent de se sentir moins seuls.

Lors de ces rencontres on prend la mesure de l'Histoire de chacun d'eux et de toutes les choses incroyables qu'ils ont vécu. Ils racontent tout un tas d'anecdotes sur leur vie avec un certain enthousiasme de pouvoir parler, raconter et échanger avec une nouvelle personne. Certains ont une bonne humeur naturelle, d'autres un humour prononcé... L'appareil photo argentique que j'avais avec moi servait souvent d'amorce au dialogue, leur rappelant surement des souvenirs de bons moments passés en famille. 

Certains résidents sont ici avec leur mari/femme, je n'ai jamais vu de couple aussi amoureux et attentionnés l'un envers l'autre qu'ici. Ces couples vivent en symbiose, ils dépendent l'un de l'autre pour vivre. Ils réalisent aussi que le temps leur est compté, ils en profitent au maximum. 

Lorsqu'on discute plus profondément avec chacun, tous sont lucides sur leur condition et sur le fait qu'ils sont en fin de vie. C'est aussi important mais aussi perturbant de savoir que peut-être, pour nombre de résidents ce sera le dernier vrai portrait d'eux vivant. 

J'ai réalisé ce travail avec un plaisir particulier à photographier ces personnes aux traits de visages marqués par les années, les rendant d'autant plus beaux. Mais aussi il relate plus personnellement la condition d'une de mes grand-mère atteinte de la maladie d'alzheimer qui est passée par ce genre d'établissement par obligation. J'ai pu retrouver des résidents ayant le même parcours qu'elle, et c'était touchant de voir des similitudes et handicaps liés à cette maladie. Comme le fait qu'ils redeviennent enfant dans leur tête, retrouvent une certaine forme d'innocence malgré leurs propos incohérents et parlent sans filtre. Leur mémoire les ramènent des dizaines d'années en arrière et ne se rendent pas compte d'où ils sont ni quel âge ils ont réellement.

Images et textes soumis à des droits: ©Lucas Frayssinet